Cheriton Primary School



My name is Mel Hampton and I am the newly elected Chair of Governors for Cheriton Primary School.  I have been a governor here since 2016, starting as a parent governor, then moving to finance, Vice-Chair and now Chair.  All three of my daughters have attended Cheriton Primary School and I truly believe it is a very special school where children are valued, happy and enjoy learning. 

Alongside a set of dedicated teachers and senior leadership the governors perform 3 core functions: 

  • that the vision, ethos and strategic direction of the school are clearly defined

  • that the headteacher performs their responsibilities for the educational performance of the school

  • the sound, proper and effective use of the school’s financial resources

It is a strategic role and in no way are we involved in the operational side of running the school. As a foundation trust school we have additional responsibilities relating to staff and the land and buildings.

We are all volunteers from different backgrounds and have a varied skill set, we attend 6 meetings per year plus various panel meetings and monitoring visits where we ensure policy is being put into practice.  The board consists of the Headteacher, a teacher, a local authority governor, two parent governors, two foundation governors and up to seven co-opted governors who cover different required skills, such as finance, risk assessment, IT or health and safety for example.  

There are often spaces on the governing board so if you are interested in becoming a school governor or know someone who is, please do get in touch.  It is a very rewarding role.

I am very proud to represent Cheriton Primary School and will always do my best to ensure that every child matters and see that we continue to develop our team of governors through training and being a recognisable face in school wherever we can.


Headteacher: Ms Sophia Dover Term:

Chair of Governors: Mrs Melanie Hampton Term:

Vice Chair of Governors: Ms Sheryl Hastings Term:

Foundation Governor: Ms Sarah Elliott Term: 11/07/20 - 10/07/2024

Teacher Governor: Miss R Adams Term: 24/01/2022 - 23/01/2026

Co-opted Governor: Mrs Jennie Carter Term: 16/10/2023 - 15/10/2027

Co-opted Governor: Ms Emily Ann Blakley Term: 16/10/2023 - 15/10/2027

Co-opted Governor: Ms Eleanor Neely Term: 24/03/24 - 23/03/28

Parent Governor: Mr Karl Knight Term: 23/11/23 - 22/11/27

Parent Governor: Ms Caroline Hurley Term: 17/11/23 - 16/11/27

Resigned in the last 12 months:

Mr Darryl Lane Term:

Mrs Julia Lawless Term:


Click here for the Governor Attendance and Business Interests 2023 - 24.

Click here for our Governors Allowance Policy.